In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the three core strategic functions of the St John's Governing Body are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Our Instrument of Government, which explains the structure of the governing board, can be found here.

Chair of Governors: Robyn Dye

Appointed by GB: 25th April 2021 - 24th April 2025

My background is in nursing and I currently work as an operational service manager across East Kent for the British Red Cross. This means I have experience of, and a genuine interest in, meeting the needs of my local community. Both of my children attended St John's and I have been involved in helping welcome new parents to the school. I am particularly looking forward to becoming a part of the positive changes and continual improvements taking place.

Vice-Chair: David Milham

Nominated by LA and appointed by GB: 19th May 2020 - 18th May 2024

I have been a school governor for over 25 years and am currently chair of a successful primary academy near Faversham. In 2013 I was appointed a National Leader of Governance and have helped governors at a number of schools improve pupils achievement and progress. I am a Chartered Engineer with senior management experience within the Engineering Sector. I now run my own consultancy business based in Faversham.

Revd Canon Andrew Dodd

Ex-officio foundation governor: 1st September 2022 - 31st August 2026

Photo of Revd. Canon Andrew Dodd

I am the Residentiary Canon Treasure at Canterbury Cathedral and I was invited to join the governing board at St John's as the Archdeacon’s nominee in September 2022. Before moving to Canterbury I had previously been a governor at different schools: church, community, and academies, both secondary and primary. I remain a director of a the Church of England Multi Academy Trust in Lincolnshire. Prior to ordination I worked as a Civil Engineer in local government. I have wide experience in monitoring school standards; curriculum development and school ethos as well as skills in collective worship, religious education, and wider community / school partnerships.

Keji Moses

Elected by parents: 16th March 2021 - 15th March 2025

Photo of Keji Moses

I am the founder and CEO of Mayah’s Legacy. Mayah’s Legacy is a charitable organisation that empowers women and families to advocate for their needs as they navigate pregnancy and/or pregnancy loss. I'm also a director at Goddess Hub CIC. Goddess Hub CIC provides perinatal emotional support to improve the mental and emotional wellbeing of mothers.

I completed my five-year term as an LEA school governor at St Patricks Primary School in 2019. I also served as a LEA governor at Lyndhurst Primary School (for two years) when I was on the curriculum committee. One of my main roles as governor was to ensure the protection of learners by making the school accountable for child protection, health and safety, and wellness practices.

I am an active member of my community and I sit on a number of local committees and boards, including the Kent County Council SEND Cub-Committee Council.

I look forward to promoting a culture of excellence and ensuring that the school achieves all its objectives.

Elisabeth Smiley

Foundation member: 25th April 2021 - 24th April 2025

I am an experienced secondary school teacher, sports coach, youth worker and mother and I have been on the governing body of St John's since shortly after it was established in 2013. I have been delighted to see the progress the school has made over its first three years and have a specific interest in SEND provision at the school.

Mark Player

Elected by parents: 16th March 2021 - 15th March 2025

I work as a Chartered Public Finance Accountant at Great Ormond Street NHS Trust and I previously worked in local government and managed the finance function at a District Council.

Laura Seaman

Elected by school staff: 20th July 2020 - 19th July 2024 (maternity leave Jan 2023 - Jan 2024: covered by Harriet Brown)

I have been a qualified teacher for over 8 years working predominantly in Early Years. Most recently, I have been working on my National Qualification in Leading Teaching which is a very exciting opportunity in my career. I have been the Art and Design and Design Technology subject leader at St. John's since 2017 and was thrilled to be appointed the position of Staff Governor in 2020.

Harriet Brown

I have been a qualified teacher for over 6 years, working at another school before joining St John's in 2021. I have worked as a class teacher in both KS1 and KS2, with experience of leading RE and Maths. A couple of years ago I was thrilled to have completed my MA in Education, I loved this new experience within my career.

Rob Gold

Joanne Williamson

Ex-officio (Headteacher)

I have been a qualified teacher for over 20 years, working in primary education. Having been a PE subject leader, KS1 and EYFS Assistant Headteacher and Deputy Head at a previous school for 12 years, I was delighted to be appointed Headteacher of St John's when it was created in 2012. I have worked in the Northgate community for 22 years and it has been a privilege to get to know so many families and I look forward to meeting many more in the future.

If you would like to contact a member of the Governing Body then please contact the school office:

Governors’ Register of Interests and Attendance

Please click on the links to see our role descriptions: